Escaping the Heat: Crescent City and the Redwood Forest

M T Sutphin
Globetrotters
Published in
4 min readJun 29, 2022
Overlook at Crescent Beach. Photo by author.

It was one of those days we just don’t want to suffer through. Being from Virginia, I’m used to heat waves into the 90s, but I wasn’t in Virginia anymore.

Back in May, I decided to move out west to southern Oregon. My job, to help manage a medical cannabis farm. As time progressed, summer brought with it “heat domes” that swept in, raising temperatures past record levels. There was no air conditioning on the farm!

After listening to the dogs and myself panting for a while, I decided it was just too much. I hopped in the truck, dogs with me, and headed to the coast. Boy was I in for a surprise that day.

108 degrees in Glendale Oregon. It actually reached 112 that day in some areas. Photo by author.

Siskiyou National Forest and the Smith River

The trip started off from Glendale Oregon, and I headed south toward Grants Pass. From there, I took the “Redwood Highway’ toward the coast. The road became winding and narrow as I entered the Rogue River — Siskiyou National Forest. From there I continued on for about an hour, stopping several times to photograph the beautiful Smith river. Running from Klammoth Falls Oregon into Northern California, it is the longest river in California that hasn’t had any dams built on it. For the most part, it has been left in its natural state and is famous for trout and steel-head fishing.

Photo of Smith River in Northwestern California

The Redwood Forest

I had always heard about the great Redwood forests in California and wanted to see them myself for quite some time. How exciting to come across this sign on the way to the coast. Welcome to Jedediah Smith Redwoods State Park.

Sign entering Jedediah Smith State Park. Photo by author

Reaching heights of over 325 feet, many of the trees here are over 2,000 years old.

Of course, I stopped for photos, and even found a stranger nice enough to take one of me with the dogs.

Photo in front of a giant redwood tree. Photo by author.

But aside from the trees, I noticed something else. The temperature was dropping.

71 degrees in the Redwood forest. Photo by author.

Crescent City

Leaving the redwood forest, there were signs pointing toward the coast, Crescent City California. What a cute little town, quite sparsely populated compared to some of the beachfront cities I had been to elsewhere. Traveling along, I came across Highway 1, which runs directly through Crescent City. A coastal highway popular with tourists, it runs nearly the entire length of the western US seaboard.

After circling around a few times, I stopped at the local fishing pier. I got the dogs out, and we decided to go for a walk.

Sign for B Street Pier, Crescent City CA. Photo by author.
B Street Pier in Crescent City CA. Photo by author.
View from Crescent City CA B Street Pier. Photo by author.

The water was gorgeous and I certainly wasn’t hot anymore. But there was one big problem — I was freezing!

From 108 degrees earlier that day, it was now 59 degrees. I was shocked at the difference, and realized I hadn’t planned for this. Wearing shorts and a short sleeve shirt, it didn’t take long before I was ready to hop back in the truck. So we continued on.

From 108 to 59 degrees at Crescent City. Photo by author.

Overlooks to the Pacific

Driving just a few miles south from Crescent City, I followed Highway 1 until I came upon signs for overlooks. The dogs weren’t impressed at all, and wanted to stay in the vehicle. So I got out and snapped some photos.

Panoramic View from Crescent City overlook. Photo by author.
View from Crescent City overlook. Photo by author.

I don’t know about you, but I’ve seen a fair share of beaches in my life, including the white sand beaches of the Caribbean and Southeast Asia. This place, however, has its own unique beauty. The rocky shoreline is backed by towering cliffs overlooking a blue ocean. The overlooks along Highway 1 near Crescent City were breathtaking.

View from Crescent City overlook. Photo by author.
View from Crescent City overlook. Photo by author.

If you ever find yourself in a heatwave out on the West Coast, the secret is out of the bag. Crescent City, and the Redwood forest that backs up to it, enjoys year-round breezes from the northern Pacific Ocean. The air, sweeping down from cooler climates, provides a perfect environment for the ancient redwoods to thrive, and a reprieve from the heat of summer.

--

--

M T Sutphin
Globetrotters

I’m an avid learner, a home improvement contractor, frequent traveler, freelance writer, history and nature buff with degrees in History and Psychology.