Exploring Bordeaux

Chasing moments and light in the wine capital of the world.

--

A coffee and two of my camera’s, the third on the left belongs to my spouse. All photos by Mark Spowart.

My spouse and I are both photographers. Together we cover the top equestrian show jumpers at events in Europe, Scandinavia and North America. Mette and I started this adventure in 2020, beginning with events close to home in Canada eventually growing to the level we are at today. It has been a journey of exploration and growth, in our business, our relationship and our respective abilities as photographers.

In 2024 we will shoot 35 shows in 10 different countries. With each event we build in a few days either before the start of the show or after to get out and photograph the city we are visiting.

Sidewalk cafe and early morning light.

In each of these cities we try to be as close to the centre of town as possible. Venues are often large and unless it is an indoor show they may be located on the outskirts of town. If they are not close to the city centre, they are usually very close to public transit, especially in Europe where public transit is extensive and easily accessible compared to really anywhere in North America.

In Bordeaux, this worked out well. Our hotel was close to the venue and within a short…

--

--

Mark Spowart | Photographer | Writer | Traveller
Globetrotters

I cut my teeth in the world of photojournalism capturing life in a relatable way. I write about photography, travel & politics. www.markspowartphotography.com