Exploring The Castle at Conwy

And the city walls

Adrienne Beaumont
Globetrotters

--

One of Conwy Castle’s towers (all photos are mine)

I’ve been remembering places I’ve visited in Turkey and completely forgot that there are others I’ve explored. Conwy Castle and the old city walls are in Conwy. (How about that?) I had never heard of it before we planned to stay there and I thought it had been misspelled. I wanted to write it as Conway. It’s Welsh so I should be happy it had at least one vowel!

We drove directly from Heathrow Airport to Conwy. We were pleased to be back on the left side of the road after being months on the right. My niece drove all the way. I baa-ed every time I saw sheep. There was a lot of baa-ing from the back seat which amused my niece but maybe not the other passengers. The countryside was just so green and luscious. Greener than Ireland? Maybe not, but a close second.

The view of the walls from the Castlebank Hotel steps

We arrived in Conwy, checked into the Castlebank Hotel and went for a walk around the top of the walls. It was blowing a gale. There were gaps in the stonework — yikes! But great views over the town and the castle.

--

--

Adrienne Beaumont
Globetrotters

I’m Australian. I love to travel and write about my adventures.I write about my daily life as a mother and grandmother as well as my past experiences.