Travel. Nature. El Salvador.

First Impressions of El Salvador

Santa Ana (a city and gorgeous volcano of the same name) along with Lago de Coatepeque, a bubbling, warm, volcanic crater lake

Sh*t Happens - Lost Girl Travel
Globetrotters
Published in
6 min readJun 21, 2024

--

Santa Ana Volcano, El Salvador (photo credit to Joseph Mitchley)

We weren’t originally even planning to go to El Salvador!

We had popped it aside in our minds into the category of somewhat scary/sketchy places to avoid. That was until we met people who’d been, and couldn’t stop talking about how lovely a place it was and how safe they felt there.

After a little research, we caved and tacked it onto the itinerary. I’m glad we did! It’s a charismatic country with lovely pockets of natural beauty and the national dish of pupusas (fat, sexy, cheesy, stuffed and griddled tortillas) I could eat every day till I die!

Pastel coloured building of Santa Ana, El Salvador (Photo credit to the author)

Our first stop was the city of Santa Ana. The main square is sweet and charming with a gleaming white cathedral and pastel pink and green buildings, however overall I wouldn’t recommend spending time here.

In all honesty there’s just nothing much to see or do. If I were to describe Santa Ana in a…

--

--

Sh*t Happens - Lost Girl Travel
Globetrotters

Hi! I’m Georgie and I share travel stories of when sh*t happens. I think that sometimes the worst things that happen to you traveling, are often the funniest