Globetrotters Writer Spotlight — Kathryn Scurci

A Travel-Loving American Living in the Canadian Arctic

Kathryn Scurci
Globetrotters
4 min readNov 2, 2023

--

On a recent trip in Puglia, Italy. Photo Credit: Kathryn Scurci

Hi, Globetrotters! My name is Kathryn.

I love to travel because…

As an introvert, traveling gets me way out of my comfort zone. When I travel, I have no choice but to make friends with strangers, and (thankfully) this has rarely led me astray. In fact, it has resulted in some of my favorite travel experiences. There is something about connecting with people, even if it’s just an exchange of smiles because you don’t speak the same language, that sparks joy and reminds you that we are all passengers on the same tiny rock.

My number one travel activity is…

Walking! In town, in nature, anywhere. The slow place lets me soak up sights, sounds, and smells, and the flexibility lets me wander wherever I like.

I come from…

The US, but I live in Canada. Currently, I live in Iqaluit, Nunavut.

It gets pretty cold here. Photo Credit: Kathryn Scurci

I work as a…

Marine mammal biologist. I have spent the last decade studying whales and the sounds they make, but I’m taking a break from science work at the moment. I’m here on Medium to re-connect with my love for writing.

My happiest place —in the field. Photo Credit: Amelia Johnson

The best place I’ve been is…

When I try to think of an answer to this question, a kaleidoscope of memories unfolds in my mind.

Right now, the memory that rises to the surface is from a three-week solo trip through New Zealand.

I was on the Milford Road, taking in the breathtaking views. There wasn’t another car in sight, so I was driving slowly, willing my eyes to soak in as much detail as possible. I pulled over to walk through a field of wild lupine, and as they swayed in the breeze, I snapped some pictures. I remember breathing deeply, looking out over the mountains and thinking, this is as good as it gets.

Lupine off Milford Road, New Zealand. Photo Credit: Kathryn Scurci

In my spare time, I like to…

Cook, listen to/play music, hike, watch wildlife, knit, and lovingly annoy my husband.

Watching for whales, seals, and sea birds in Orkney, Scotland. Photo Credit: Kathryn Scurci

My top travel tip is…

“Off the beaten path” doesn’t mean you have to avoid other tourists like the plague.

Often, it is as easy as turning off the busiest street onto a quiet alley or getting off a train one stop before the city center.

Lean into wandering, and, as Gandalf the Grey once said, “When in doubt, always follow your nose” (this is particularly good advice if, like me, you love good food).

If I could live somewhere else, I’d live in…

Maine. It’s where I went to school and where I feel most at home. A piece of my heart is always there.

Off the coast of Maine during my undergrad studies (many moons ago). Photo Credit: Jessica McCordic

My favorite way to travel is…

Slowly.

This is why I love traveling solo — I can meander all I want.

If I am on a trip with friends and/or family, I try to take a few hours, or even a day, to myself so I can melt into my surroundings. For me, there is nothing better than wandering in a new place with no particular goal. It allows me to be mindful and to stumble upon things I never would have otherwise.

A quiet walk through spectacular Saihō-ji (Moss Temple) in Kyoto. Photo Credit: Kathryn Scurci

Three lessons I’ve learned from traveling are…

  • Don’t let fear stop you from connecting with people and embracing new experiences.
  • Leave any judgements or preconceptions you have about a new place at home.
  • This planet is extraordinary, and we have an obligation to protect it.

Thanks for reading! I’m thrilled to be a new writer for Globetrotters. Please give me a follow if you’d like to read more of my pieces. I write about travel, living with chronic pain and mental illness, and staying curious through it all.

--

--

Kathryn Scurci
Globetrotters

World Traveler I Whale Biologist | Spoonie. Travel tips and reflections, chronic pain, staying curious through it all. Maybe the odd whale-y piece thrown in.