GLOBETROTTERS WRITING PROMPT

Green is More Than Just a Color

Green is a way of life

Anne Bonfert
Globetrotters
Published in
4 min readMar 24, 2023

--

This is me, walking on a suspension bridge in the city. | Photo credit: Anne Bonfert

I honestly didn’t know what to expect when I touched down in Kuala Lumpur. I knew it was the capital of Malaysia. I knew it was a city and I knew I wasn’t into cities.

I don’t like traffic jams, skyscrapers or crowds. I’m a person for nature, adventure and idyllic landscapes.

Yet, this city has shown me something I didn’t expect.

Seeing trees and skyscrapers. | Photo credit: Anne Bonfert

The first time I arrived in Kuala Lumpur, I took a taxi from the airport. I had read up on the train system but must have been too lazy, skeptical or scared to make use of the fast and easy connection to downtown.

As I was driving the highway into town I remember having an interesting conversation with the taxi driver. It was about the city, what I should expect and his pride on the country. Only much later would I understand what he meant.

I stayed for a few days in Kuala Lumpur and soon I wasn’t making use of taxis anymore but had learned the efficient use of public transport.

--

--

Anne Bonfert
Globetrotters

I am a traveler. Photographer. Writer. Teacher. Skydiving instructor. Adventure enthusiast. Nature lover. And fell in love with the African continent.