Guadalajara: Mexico’s Most Underrated City

Of the 8 different Mexican Cities I’ve visited so far, Guadalajara was the one that surprised me the most and exceeded all of my expectations!

Jo Muller
Globetrotters

--

The Cathedral of Guadalajara, Photo by author

While travelling through Mexico this winter, some of my destinations were planned in advance, but others were planned spontaneously on the road. Visiting Guadalajara, the capital of the state of Jalisco and Mexico’s second-largest city in terms of population, was a spontaneous choice.

Actually, I never thought about adding Guadalajara to my itinerary before starting my journey; having only known that it was one of the country’s biggest cities but not the most popular one among tourists and backpackers, I initially thought there wouldn’t be so much on offer and that it wouldn’t make much sense to go there. To be fair, the only things I knew about the city before visiting it were its two famous Football Clubs: Chivas and Atlas Guadalajara.

All in all, I was so wrong about the city not having much to offer, and I can safely say that it was one of my best spontaneous decisions ever taken to go to Guadalajara and that it was the one place in Mexico that surprised me the most in a positive way, and it has actually become one of my favourite places in Mexico!

--

--

Jo Muller
Globetrotters

Travel passionate and Life enthusiastic boy from Luxembourg, sharing experiences and guidelines from my travels and personal growth IG: jo.elviajero