Historic Hereford

The English city that was once in Wales

--

Hereford Cathedral © Simon Whaley

“You have arrived at your destination,” my SatNav proudly declared.

I switched her off. Modern technology can get it so wrong sometimes. The leisure centre car park was not my destination, but the start of today’s journey around the historic city of Hereford.

I pulled out a paper map and plotted my route. I much prefer paper maps to digital ones. They don’t tell you what to do, for a start!

The cathedral city of Hereford sits on the beautiful banks of the River Wye. Although currently in England, that’s not always been the case. In 1189, Richard I granted a charter to the town of “Hereford in Wales!”

Hereford lies on the banks of the River Wye © Simon Whaley

My first quest is to cross the river. Checking my map, bridges across the River Wye are few and far between in Herefordshire, which is a sore point for many locals, who find themselves caught up in the congestion of the busy through traffic.

Being on foot has its advantages though, as I head across the tranquil Bishop’s Meadow towards Victoria Bridge.

This huge green space near the city centre was given to the residents in 1914 by…

--

--

Simon Whaley - Author | Writer | Photographer
Globetrotters

Bestselling author, writer and photographer. UK travel writer. Lives in the glorious Welsh Borders. Contact: https://www.simonwhaley.co.uk/contact-me/