Hitchhiking as a woman? Safer than you think!

Asia Colonna
Globetrotters
Published in
4 min readOct 19, 2022
I, hitchhiking in Italy, and kinda freezing. photo by Asia Colonna

When I tell of having hitchhiked several times, people often have a look between the amazed and the skeptical.

Being a hitchhiker, especially a woman hitchhiker, is not something you hear every day, and we are a “race” that seems to be on the verge of extinction.

If you intend to hitchhike, they will tell you (really, a lot of people will feel compelled to do it) that you shouldn’t, that it’s unconscionable and dangerous.

The truth is that those who discourage you generally have never even tried. Over time, thanks to the media, changes in habits, and more individualistic society, this belief has been created that hitchhiking is a hazardous practice and that if all goes well, it’s just luck.

Hitchhiking is dangerous, but no more than many other things.
We risk our lives many times, and we are often unaware of it.

Is hitchhiking really dangerous? A story that will make you think

As we said before, hitchhiking has its dangers, there is no denying it. However, it makes me angry when there are people who claim it’s completely dangerous, even accusing hitchhikers of recklessness when perhaps they consider other types of travel safe and normal, just because they are more “institutionalized”.

It is becoming more and more normal and accepted to use Blablacar or Airbnb. The first is a platform where you can share a route by paying; the other one, you will surely know it, allows you to book someone’s room or apartment, and pay for it.

People feel safe to use these services because registration is made and you are tracked, and it is thought that in the event of a violation of clauses, you are protected.

The short personal story that I’m going to tell now just wants to make us think.

In 2019 I was 20 and I went on a walking and hitchhiking trip in southern Europe. I never had any problem with hitchhiking, on the contrary, I only had positive encounters that made me trust people. I often slept in tents or using Couchsurfing, or in parishes. When I arrived in Toulouse, France, I had nowhere to sleep, as I had not planned to arrive there that day. So I decided to book a room with Airbnb, at the home of a 50-year-old man.

We were alone in the house, and I would have slept in the room of the 10-year-old daughter, next to that of the 18-year-old son.
He was a family man, then. An easy-going, kind man who offered me dinner at his house even though it was not included in the price.
He then told me that he wanted to show me some comedy videos of an actor we had talked about during dinner. We sat down on the sofa, and it was at that moment that he tried to put a hand on me.

He was very insistent, and I was very afraid that night.
It seemed absurd to me that after so many nights outdoors and strangers driving around in the car, after paying for a room that was supposed to be a safe place, I was being harassed.

Unfortunately, mine is not the only case, there are many people who have had similar problems, or worse, and have not been protected, and indeed, completely ignored.

If a person wants to hurt you, they do, no matter if you registered on a website or you paid them for a service. But usually, people are not generally out to hurt other people.

We forget that most cases of violence take place in the home, for example.

This makes me say that danger is everywhere, and we often focus on clichés.

With the right precautions, and relying on common sense and our gut (which is very precious) we should have more confidence, and not stop at “hearsay”.

Why you should hitchhike, especially if you are a woman

a ride in Spain, going to the beach! proto by Asia Colonna

I state that every person should experience hitchhiking in life. It will change your perspectives, priorities, and relationships with yourself and other people a lot.

If you are a woman, it could have an even greater impact, as it is usually women who are always underestimated, or who are preached at.

Traveling alone already increases self-esteem and changes how you look at life itself. By hitchhiking, you make your trip unique. You have the opportunity to challenge yourself, having to talk to new people and trusting them. This will not only make you more confident, but you will experience that people are generally guided by the good, rather than the other way around.

You will get to know local people, who will tell you about their places and show you the most authentic ones. You will come home with lots of stories, and a much more open and confident mind toward others.

There are many women hitchhikers that share their experiences and knowledge that I really appreciate. I suggest you check out Mind of a hitchhiker (she even wrote a thesis about hitchhiking!): her tales will give you the right push to put your thumb up on the road and let the adventure begin!

Thanks for reading. If you’re interested in a more detailed essay about this topic, let me know in the comments or clap this article!

--

--

Asia Colonna
Globetrotters

I do things, I see people, and then I write about them.