Travel

House Sitting: Free Digs and Fun Pets

Stay for free around the world!

Jean Elizabeth Glass
Globetrotters
Published in
4 min readApr 15, 2022

--

Monica Silvestre on Pexels

I am currently sitting in Cleveland, Ohio, USA. (Yes, by choice!) Actually, I am in a suburb just outside of Cleveland, but that’s splitting hairs. I’m in a 4-bedroom, 3-bathroom house with the use of a washer and a dryer, a dishwasher, and great internet. Oh, and the cost of staying here is hanging out with a cool dog, feeding her and giving her meds once a day, letting her out in the fenced yard, cleaning up after her in said yard, and playing with her. Pretty sweet, huh?

How did I score this great place? I signed up to be a house sitter. I can find sits all over the world with tons of different kinds of pets. Why Cleveland? Because it has the best laser tag place, Arena 51, in the United States. (Trust me, I've been to a lot of laser tag arenas.) We’re here for 4 days, and we’re playing every day. There’s also a cool market (Westside Market) in an historic building downtown, and Jeni’s ice cream (one of our favorites despite being a regional chain) in nearby Chagrin Falls. [Note: None of these links are affiliate marketing. They are just heartfelt recommendations.]

But back to house sitting. I don’t want to paint too rosy a picture of it. It comes with responsibilities. You have to take care of people’s beloved pets, possible water their…

--

--

Jean Elizabeth Glass
Globetrotters

I write things. A lot. I love to travel. I edit and create content. Need help with words? I can help. jean@wordsmithweb.com