Travel

How I Experienced the Royal Albert Hall for Under $10

Summer concerts that are truly affordable

Monica Ray, M.Ed, MS
Globetrotters
Published in
6 min readOct 4, 2023

--

Royal Albert Hall from the Gallery
My first time at the Proms with a very cheap ticket (2019) — credit: Monica Ray

There is a concert hall in London which may give the impression of being inaccessible because of its grandeur. Its imposing structure in an affluent part of London may make you feel that there is no way you could afford the tickets or meet the dress code requirements.

I’m about to quash that notion.

If you’re in Central London between Queen’s Gate and Exhibition Road on Kensington Gore, it’s very difficult to miss a rust and gold circular structure looking onto Kensington Gardens to the north. This is the Royal Albert Hall.

Many might associate the Royal Albert Hall (RAH) with stuffy, classical, music. Nothing could be further from the truth. Head over to the website (another tab please so I can take you on a journey here!), and peruse the different offerings. There’s contemporary music, family concerts, and comedy among many other unique events.

However, I want to draw your attention to one very classical and British fixture that happens every summer…

--

--

Monica Ray, M.Ed, MS
Globetrotters

Top and Boosted Writer. I write food/travel pieces centered around the UK, India, and the US. I also cover writing. Follow me on Instagram @monicaonthemoveray