I Got Scammed in Morocco … and Kinda Liked It

In a battle of wits, don’t be a rube

Craig K. Collins
Globetrotters
Published in
9 min readJun 19, 2024

--

Tourists to the Jemaa el-Fnaa marketplace in Marrakesh, Morocco, are liable to encounter many fruits and nuts. It’s best to keep your wits about you and be on your toes when visiting, for merchants and other denizens of this ancient market have developed a galaxy of clever and ingenious methods of extracting as much capital as possible from visitors. (Photo: ©Craig K. Collins)

“Twelve dirham! Twelve dirham!” the fruit vendor barks as he hands me a large cup of fresh-cut watermelon cubes.

“Twelve dirham!” he barks again, his voice loud above the din of the Jemaa el-Fnaa market in Marakesh, Morocco.

I hand him twenty dirham, worth about two American dollars.

I then wait for my change. And wait. And wait.

I am suddenly invisible to the vendor, who has moved on to other customers.

His senses, quite keen only a moment ago, appear to have dulled, especially his hearing.

“Hey!” I say to no effect. “Hey!”

“Hey!” I yell, startling the couple next to me.

The vendor, who is perched on an elevated platform behind his colorful display of melons, cantaloupe, strawberries, bananas and pineapple, busies himself with the task of hacking fruit to pieces with what appears to be a large machete.

“Heyyyy!!!” I yell at the top of my lungs.

Visitors to Marrakesh are wise to always watch their step — literally and figuratively. (Photos: ©Craig K. Collins)

--

--

Craig K. Collins
Globetrotters

Author, Photographer, Former Tech Executive. Purveyor of thoughtful, hand-crafted prose. Midair: http://amzn.to/3lGFROD Thunder: http://amzn.to/3oA5wt3