I Spent Christmas in the 2nd Most Underrated City in Spain.

This is what my Fujifilm captured

Jerry Odogwu
Globetrotters
4 min readJan 11, 2024

--

Photo by Author

I recently made a habit of seeking for a warm Christmas. Last year it was Jordan and before that Naples. Malaga was not my first choice but I was easily swayed by the cheap plane ticket.

When you think of Spain, Malaga isn’t the first city that comes to mind. But, after a few days there, it should at least be the second.

Every Spanish city I’ve visited has got its popular central market. But Malaga’s Mercado Central de Atarazanas was the first that did not feel like another tourist trap. It felt like a genuine indoor market where locals and foreigners got fresh and cooked food. I should mention the cooked food seemed a tad overpriced though.

Photo by Author
Photo by Author

I found out the best views of the city were from Alcazaba fortress. The only price was the steep climb to the top. Did I make it to the very top? No! Was the view worth the hike? Absolutely!

On one side, the calm Alboran sea, and on the other side, some mountains towered behind the strip of buildings.

Photo by Author
Photo by Author

Walking through the old town was easy. It felt busy but not “Barcelona” busy. You could move about without brushing shoulders with strangers. Tiny streets all leading to each other. The Encarnacion Cathedral towers over everything, visible from almost every alley in the historical center.

Photo by Author
Photo by Author
Photo by Author
Photo by Author
Photo by Author
Photo by Author

Across the historical center, a long walkway by the waterfront led to an outdoor mall. This was by far the best part of the city for walks. There were stalls selling all sorts of locally made trinkets and art. Lots of places to just sit and take in the view. A street photographer’s paradise.

After a long walk and a bit of shopping, I finished my evening with a sunset view boat tour. An experience that was worth every penny.

Photo by Author
Photo by Author
Photo by Author
Photo by Author
Photo by Author
Photo by Author
Photo by Author

I spent the last day at the beach. The water was too cold for a swim but the atmosphere was extremely relaxing. Locals having a football kickabout. Some cycled while some jogged, It felt like a typical summer day (but in December).

Photo by Author
Photo by Author

Being someone who has always loved white Christmases, I’m definitely changing my mind. I’m thinking a “sunny” Christmas might be my new tradition.

Photo by Author

--

--