Iceland - The World's Most Beautiful Sunset

A story about how tired eyes and tired minds led to experiencing the most beautiful sunset

The Travelling Programmer
Globetrotters

--

Photo by Author — Seljalandsfoss Waterfall from behind

Guess what? It’s another post about Iceland. Whilst I promise I’ve visited plenty of other countries, the responses I’ve gotten on my previous Icelandic posts have been great and have made me appreciate being a part of the Globetrotters community.

So if you wouldn't mind, here’s another article about Iceland. Please don’t criticize me too much, this month’s Globetrotters theme is waterfalls after all.

Picture this, you’re roughly seven days into your ten-day trip to Iceland. You’ve driven over 1,500km and are almost back in the capital. You’re nearing the end of your busiest day yet, which included kayaking, hiking and glacier walking. You’re still roughly two hours away from your bed for the evening and despite sharing the bulk of the driving, all members of your party are understandably tired.

Well this is exactly what I experienced. In order to squeeze in various excursions throughout the day and cover the 400km drive, we set off at 6 o’clock in the morning from Hofn, a small town situated on the south coast of Iceland. We spent the majority of the morning driving to our base of operations for the day, a visitor center near Skaftafell…

--

--

The Travelling Programmer
Globetrotters

Hi, I'm the travelling programmer. Looking to explore and combine my new passion for writing with my passions for programming and travelling.