Isla Incahuasi, Bolivia, Is One Of The Most Surreal Places I’ve Been To

Not exactly what you would expect to find in the middle of the world’s highest salt flat. Yet, here you go.

Nicholas Colombo
Globetrotters

--

Photo by Author

March 2020 was a month that I will never be able to forget, while it was the beginning of a horrendous time for the whole world, and in my case, one of the most traumatic experiences in my life, it was also, at least in the first half, an opportunity to visit some of the most mystical and fascinating places ever. A few days before my misadventure on Easter Island, I traveled to Bolivia, to visit the Salar de Uyuni, which I think is an absolutely unique and unmissable place, should one opt for a trip to South America.

Photo by Author

The off-road vehicle that accompanied us on the salty adventure, such a poser.

The previous days, I had spent in San Pedro de Atacama, in northern Chile, the ideal base from which to stay in order to discover all the wonders that the driest desert in the world has to offer. Being close to the border with Bolivia, it is quite easy from here to trespass into the other country, which, once through customs, welcomes the…

--

--

Nicholas Colombo
Globetrotters

Curious traveler and overthinker. Into cities and their stories. Roots in Italy, branches everywhere. Lived in Australia, Spain, Chile, Vietnam. IG: @nicosfeed