Monthly Challenge

Three Scenic Vistas That Hide Poignant Stories

Vistas and tales from Jamaica, Mexico, and New York

Monica Ray, M.Ed, MS
Globetrotters
Published in
5 min readApr 8, 2024

--

View of the Caribbean Sea from our hotel room in Ocho Rios, Jamaica
A stunning vista of the Caribbean Sea from our room (credit: Monica Ray)

May 2008.

We arrived in Jamaica very late in the night from Miami. I had no idea of what the outside was like until the following morning.

The photo above was what I saw after drawing the curtains. The soft sound of morning waves woke me up and the view left me stunned.

I’d never stayed at a resort before and I was, as we say in the UK, gobsmacked.

Jamaica’s story

We needed a change of scenery. A few months before May, I suffered a devastating and unexpected miscarriage at 5 months pregnant. I lived in Chicago at the time.

As one door closed, another opened in the form of a new job. My husband was offered a position at a major company in California. I couldn’t have asked for more. Chicago represented everything dark and morose, and the promise of sunny California was what our sunken souls desperately needed.

Before my husband started his new position, we decided to take a mini break to a completely new country, to renew ourselves and prepare for life on the West Coast.

--

--

Monica Ray, M.Ed, MS
Globetrotters

Top and Boosted Writer. I write food/travel pieces centered around the UK, India, and the US. I also cover writing. Follow me on Instagram @monicaonthemoveray