Last Days in Ireland

We are sad to leave this beautiful country.

Adrienne Beaumont
Globetrotters

--

Mussenden Temple Photo by author

Mussenden Temple and Downhill Demesne

After a quick cuppa, we packed up our luggage and headed off to Crockatinny Guest House, our next B&B. Our first stop was Mussenden Temple and Downhill Demesne which Earl Bishop Fredrick began building around 1772.

I had never heard the word “demesne” (pronounced dimayn). It‘s a piece of land attached to a manor and retained by the owner for his own use.

Ruins of Downhill House Photo by author

Mussenden Temple built as a library has survived the ravages of time, but Downhill House has not been so lucky. All that remains is the rock-walled shell of the original house, although it was still being used right through the Second World War years.

The ruined shell of Downhill House Photo by author

What a shame that such a beautiful house has fallen into disrepair through neglect! Built on a headland with views along the coast in both directions as well as a view of the magnificent wooded hills, it would have been a true masterpiece…

--

--

Adrienne Beaumont
Globetrotters

I’m Australian. I love to travel and write about my adventures.I write about my daily life as a mother and grandmother as well as my past experiences.