Lost in Vienna

And I barely got out of bed.

Adrienne Beaumont
Globetrotters

--

Schönbrunn Palace. Photo by Allan Wadsworth on Unsplash

We arrived in Vienna in the rain and on a public holiday. Not a good start! I was not well so I stayed in bed and went to sleep. After a good night’s sleep, I awoke feeling much better so headed down to a breakfast of juice, coffee, pork sausages wrapped in cheese and bacon, and scrambled eggs. Not a good idea at all.

My stomach bug hadn’t died overnight and I was straight back to my room. Keeley headed off to the Schönbrunn Palace while I slept some more. Hours later, the housemaid woke me so I headed off to the Palace. Keeley had been through the Palace as well as the Zoo by the time I arrived so I took my time walking through and listening to the history with an audio guide.

I still don’t know much about the Habsburgs but I know a lot more than I did before my visit! The Palace has 1441 rooms but I only wandered through 40 of the most important ones. I was very pleased I had made the effort to visit while I was in Vienna. I planned to walk up to the Gloriette, but the temperature was rapidly dropping, so I abandoned that idea in favour of catching the tram back to the hotel.

The Gloriette. Photo by Allan Wadsworth on Unsplash

--

--

Adrienne Beaumont
Globetrotters

I’m Australian. I love to travel and write about my adventures.I write about my daily life as a mother and grandmother as well as my past experiences.