GLOBETROTTERS WRITING PROMPT

March Monthly Challenge — Let's Show Some Green

This month, everything revolves around the color green

Anne Bonfert
Globetrotters
Published in
4 min readMar 1, 2023

--

Can you guess about which city I am going to write about? | Credit: Anne Bonfert

Celebrating public holidays, specific festivals and other national events around the world are a very unique way to dive into the culture of a foreign society.

Some festivals come with a splash of colors, some remove them from your memory. And one specific day this month is being recognized by one single color.

St. Patrick’s Day

The Irish celebrate the arrival of Christianity in the country on the 17th of March but today it is more than just that. It’s a day to highlight the Irish heritage and culture. And it is celebrated around the world.

While it mostly had gone past me growing up in Germany, I’ve celebrated the first and only St. Patrick’s Day so far in Africa. It was during my time living in Namibia and I remember the bar we were in was hosting the Irish festival. I was told I should wear something green and to my own surprise, I did have a green dress in the cupboard. I was the highlight of the party as there was nobody else dressed up in green as much as I was and that is pretty much everything I remember from that night.

--

--

Anne Bonfert
Globetrotters

I am a traveler. Photographer. Writer. Teacher. Skydiving instructor. Adventure enthusiast. Nature lover. And fell in love with the African continent.