Melbourne Street Art: My Self-Guided Tour

A photo story

Мaria Kriskovich
Globetrotters
3 min readAug 10, 2023

--

The topless mural of Kim Kardashian and model Em Ratajkowski by Lushsux

All photos were taken by the author.

Melbourne is a capital of art and coffee. Did you know? I didn’t, but Melbourne fixed it as soon as I got off the train.

On my way from the Richmond station

Each time I went outside, I discovered hidden gems literally everywhere. Every wall without a window must be covered with street art.

It used to be an empty wall in my area

At some point, I decided to use a street art map to avoid missing any significant art.

I used two maps: the first and the second.

And a train, of course. Everyone uses trains in this city.

It was blustery and rainy—typical winter in Melbourne. I had to move fast before another shower caught me. There was one good thing about this weather: not too many tourists, but still enough beggars.

My first stop was Flinders Way, with the Julian Assange mural and other people I had no idea about.

I then continued to the famous AC/DC lane to witness some more.

The further I went, the grungier the street art became.

To my surprise, the murals there were different from what the maps had described. Street art is a living organism that is constantly changing and evolving.

This mural seemed to appear on top of another one, so I had no idea what was hidden behind it.

This woman is also hiding something

I couldn’t find a couple of murals shown on the maps, and it felt impossible to discover everything in a city like Melbourne. Besides, a shower finally made me stop right next to this superhero-looking guy.

I should probably come back when the weather is better and explore some more. This street art is going to change. I’ll check it out and let you know.

--

--

Мaria Kriskovich
Globetrotters

Writer, traveler, B2B marketer and peaceful warrior. Read between the lines.