Mexico City, my new favourite Megacity!

Jo Muller
Globetrotters
Published in
7 min readJan 29, 2023

--

Why I fell in love with Mexico City and why you should also visit this concrete jungle

The skyline of Mexico City from the viewpoint of the Torre Latinoamericana, Photo by author

When I arrived in Mexico for a 6 week backpacking trip at the end of November 2022, I started my journey where I landed, in the country’s capital Mexico City.

Initially, I booked a Hostel for 8 nights and wondered whether that was too much for a stay in such a huge and never sleeping Megacity. But, as you might guess, it wasn’t enough, and so at the end of my trip I even decided to return there for another 4 nights!

So, in total I spent 12 nights in Mexico City, and I can tell you that it was nowhere near enough to see everything this place has to offer. In fact, you could easily spend a month here without getting bored.

In this article, I’m going to outline the reasons behind CDMX (Ciudad de Mexico) becoming my new favourite Megacity and why you should visit this City as well.

First of all, CDMX surely isn’t the least touristy place in Mexico, but on the other hand it’s not the first place on anyone’s Mexico itinerary either.

The Angel of Independence in Mexico City, Photo by author

--

--

Jo Muller
Globetrotters

Travel passionate and Life enthusiastic boy from Luxembourg, sharing experiences and guidelines from my travels and personal growth IG: jo.elviajero