Monuments, Memorials and More in Washington, D.C.

Afternoon exploration in America’s capital city

Todd Castor
Globetrotters

--

The Washington Monument in Washington, DC
The Washington Monument, towering 555 feet above a snow-covered National Mall (Credit: Todd Castor)

This is my favorite time of year in the U.S. The days are long and warm, folks are getting outside to exercise, spend time with friends and family, dine al fresco and generally enjoy life.

And since the Fourth of July is approaching, it also makes me reminisce about the time I’ve spent in Washington, D.C.

For nearly a decade, I was a “super-commuter,” meaning I lived on the West Coast but spent 60 nights or more a year in the Washington, D.C. area, where the company I worked for was headquartered.

During that time, I developed a strong appreciation for the city’s monuments and memorials, which I think should be considered among our country’s proudest and most enduring architectural achievements.

Located around the Potomac River’s Tidal Basin and the National Mall, I found myself visiting the monuments regularly, often with less frequent visitors to the area accompanying me.

In a country where it seems like so much of what we construct becomes obsolete, rebuilt or simply cast aside every few decades, the monuments and memorials of D.C. (reverently managed by the U.S. National Park Service) are timeless and with us for the long run.

--

--

Todd Castor
Globetrotters

Former bi-coastal digital product management professional | Surfer, swimmer and life-long learner | Residing in Southern California