More Reasons To Visit Lille

From my recent Christmas trip

JamieWrites
Globetrotters
Published in
4 min readJan 21, 2024

--

A pubin Lille
Lille — author’s photo

Three weeks ago I visited Lille in northern France to escape that dull period between Christmas and New Year. I had a wonderful time in this quaint French city, which happened to have a beautiful Christmas market and beautifully decorated streets.

Read about my initial thoughts here:

After finding my feet in this historic city, I was keen to discover more about its culture and traditions.

Knowing Lille Better

I had already watched a few Youtube videos about what to do in Lille before I got there. Most travel bloggers suggested walking up the Belfry of the Town Hall, which I did first. It was 400 steps to the top and I struggled half way, having to catch my breath.

The view from the windows on each level was great. I enjoyed reaching the top and found it much easier walking back down again.

There is a lift which can be used after you have ascended the first hundred steps. It begins on the floor where you purchase your…

--

--

JamieWrites
Globetrotters

Freelance writer, author and blogger. Passionate about books, theatre and the environment. Everyone should have a healthy work-life balance so I share my tips.