Family Travel

My Family and the Auto Train

The Easy(ish) Way Down I-95

Mark Ainscow
Globetrotters
Published in
10 min readMar 1, 2023

--

The little one peers through the Superliner window. Lorton, VA. Photo by Mark Ainscow

The concept is super simple. Why drive all the way to Florida when you can take your car with you on the train? Amtrak runs the Auto Train service from Washington, DC. to Orlando taking about 17 hours. Here’s my story with my family of four.

Booking and Planning

I like trains, and the Auto Train has been on my bucket list for about fifteen years. When my wife and I figured out that we’d waited too long to book flights for the kids’ February break, we’d all but given up hope on getting somewhere warm, so when I remembered the possibility of the Auto Train, I checked the Amtrak app, I was amazed there were still open spaces left.

I wasn’t sure how to sell it to my wife, though. Would she go for it? The conversation went something like this:

“Bear with me, hon; I have an idea, and reserve all judgment until I’ve got all my words out.”

I mumbled a few more words, pulled up the Amtrak app on my phone and showed it to her. It didn’t take much convincing, and she was on board.

--

--

Mark Ainscow
Globetrotters

Dad/Husband/UXer/Brit/Yank - Takes photos and designs experiences, and writes a few words too. Not to be taken too seriously, if at all.