My first-ever solo trip to Berlin, Germany

3 Days in Germany (June/July 2017)

Anupa Jayakody
Globetrotters

--

Berlin Wall [Photo credits; Anupa Jayakody, Retouched: Sachin Amarasinghe]

This happened 5 years ago, although I can’t recollect all my thoughts, this is a simple effort to put all my memories into words for me and for anyone interested.

This was a business trip that came to me at the least expected time when my bosses wanted me to go to Berlin for training from one of our clients. The first thing they asked me was whether was ok to travel alone and if I had travelled before. Anupa was all ok!!

Visa Process

The Visa process wasn’t the smoothest, to our surprise, my visa got rejected the first time. With a small hope, we reapplied (changed the passport designation to ‘Business Analyst’ from the title ‘Student’ which we thought was the main reason for the rejection, got more letters and reservations etc.) And the news came to me that I got the visa exactly 1 day before my flight date.

I remember going all the way to the visa office in a cab which is about 40 km from my workplace. As all this happened in a very short period, I had so many things to arrange on the work front. So I was using my laptop in the vehicle as well. At one point I wanted to vomit because of motion sickness and for the 1st time.

--

--

Anupa Jayakody
Globetrotters

A proud Vegan !! Trying to explore the passion of simple writing through her life experiences