My River Cruise on the Danube

With Hungarian food and music

Adrienne Beaumont
Globetrotters

--

The Hungarian Parliament all photos by author

My ship the Gróf Széchenyi is waiting for me. Not really. I’m an hour early. I forgot to bring gloves so my hands are ice blocks. I did bring my woollen beanie so I think I’ll use that as a muff.

My cruise ship

Finally, I boarded the ship where the heat hit me hard. I anxiously waited to be seated. I’m sure the waitstaff were lovely to everyone but I felt they were particularly wonderful to me. I was seated at the best table right at the front of the ship. I felt special. They may have felt sorry for me. I was the only unaccompanied person in the crowd. Most people were couples or groups of tourists. Five Swiss ladies speaking French were on the table beside mine. Towards the end of the evening, I engaged in conversation with one of them. With my limited French, we managed to talk about our grandchildren and show photos.

Goulash soup, Goulash and Cauliflower Bake, Apple strudel and cheesecake.

She has three children and five grandchildren; the last two are twins. She is celebrating her 60th birthday. She has an eighty-three-year-old daughter…

--

--

Adrienne Beaumont
Globetrotters

I’m Australian. I love to travel and write about my adventures.I write about my daily life as a mother and grandmother as well as my past experiences.