Nordic Waterfalls

Expecting to be dazzled by the Northern Lights, I was charmed instead by waterfalls and rainbows

CosmicDancer
Globetrotters

--

Waterfalls in Lofoten. Photo by author

A few days ago I was on a Zoom call with more people. When asked, one of them who is a photographer said he was working in Lofoten at the time. He then added that it was cold, but so beautiful there. No sooner had the man ended saying this particular name than I began a tour down memory lane.

Lofoten is an archipelago in Norway I visited in 2016. It has a very dramatic landscape that looks like it has been teleported straight from another planet. Better yet, make that another dimension. I have not visited Iceland until now, but I imagine it to have the same otherworldly feel to it as this place.

A typical snapshot from Lofoten. Photo by author
A typical snapshot from Lofoten. Photo by author

I went there with great expectations: to see the Northern lights. Even though I witnessed the phenomenon a few times, the colours were always far from being as intense as in the pictures. The Aurora seemed more like a light milky green cloud or fog or foam of sorts. All this…

--

--

CosmicDancer
Globetrotters

I love art, reading, movies and travelling. Oh... and clouds. The puffy, cotton-like kind. In no particular order.