Oaxaca City: Impressions From One of Mexico’s Most Magical Places

Oaxaca City, the Capital of the State of Oaxaca, is one of the most authentic and vintage places in Mexico and the Latin American world!

Jo Muller
Globetrotters

--

Me exploring the Archaeological Site of Monte Alban, Oaxaca, Photo by author

During my recent journey across Mexico, one of my “Must Visit places” on my bucket list was Oaxaca City and the State of Oaxaca in the South of Mexico.

The State of Oaxaca is already quite popular among backpackers and tourists alike, but for many very good reasons. I’ve mentioned before that one of the main reasons I love Mexico so much as a country is its never-ending authenticity and diversity, but Oaxaca City was surely the most authentic and outstanding place I’ve visited so far in Mexico, as no other place felt as different to the rest of the country.

When I arrived in Oaxaca City from Guadalajara via Mexico City, it felt like I had just arrived in another country; the people look different than in the North, the food is different, and the streets and architecture are also quite unique.

Bustling street in Oaxaca City, Photo by author

--

--

Jo Muller
Globetrotters

Travel passionate and Life enthusiastic boy from Luxembourg, sharing experiences and guidelines from my travels and personal growth IG: jo.elviajero