On, On, To Derry

…or Londonderry

Adrienne Beaumont
Globetrotters

--

One of the many muralled buildings of Bogside Photo by author

As much as I would like to stay in bed, I had to motivate myself to get up as we are off to Derry, which used to be called Londonderry, travelling through Sligo and Donegal. After a shower, I felt better and headed off to another all-you-can-eat buffet breakfast of bacon, eggs, black and white pudding, sausages, baked beans, and grilled tomatoes. As usual, I ate far too much. The rhubarb yoghurt is delicious so I took another one for morning tea.

Sligo

Even though I had a good night’s sleep, I couldn’t stay awake and dozed the whole trip which was very easy as it was all straight, smooth, wide roads. We stopped in Sligo to fill up with diesel. I found the Vit-Hit drink that I first tasted at Guinness Storehouse, so bought two of those. They’re water and vitamins and juice with ginseng and are delicious as well as being lo-cal and providing 100% of daily requirements of many vitamins including vitamin C. I’m obviously not feeling too well.

Donegal

We stopped again at Donegal but all I wanted to do was sleep so I stayed in the car. It must be taking all my energy to fight this cold. I didn’t sleep though I was bone tired. Keeley bought me some cold and flu capsules which hopefully make me feel human again.

--

--

Adrienne Beaumont
Globetrotters

I’m Australian. I love to travel and write about my adventures.I write about my daily life as a mother and grandmother as well as my past experiences.