One Country I Wouldn’t Revisit After My 10-day Trip to Europe

Why did no one tell me it was overrated?

Chau Trieu
Globetrotters

--

Taken by the author

I went on a 10-day trip to 4 European countries at the beginning of June 2023 as a summer getaway.

After all the work stress and summer heat (and the fact that I’ll not be doing my Master’s in The Netherlands like I had previously planned), I wanted to take my parents to the continent that houses many precious memories.

It was an overall pleasant trip that gave me different perspectives on the countries I already visited.

It also let me stop fantasizing about one I hadn’t had the chance to see. And I don’t think I’ll be coming back for more after this.

That country is Italy.

The top sights were not worth the hype

I visited almost all of the most famous sights in Milan, Rome, Venice and Pisa: Duomo di Milano, Venice Canals, Colosseum, Leaning Tower of Pisa, Trevi Fountain, Sistine Chapel, you name it.

The architecture was magnificent, sure.

But was it something unique to Italy like how the windmills and tulips are to The Netherlands, the lakes are to Switzerland or the double-decker buses are to England? I wouldn’t say so.

--

--

Chau Trieu
Globetrotters

improving the quality of your work and life as a writer one post at a time ✨ https://theslowwriter.beehiiv.com/