TRAVEL. ROMANIA.

One of Many Fortified Churches Built by My Ancestors

Biertan — A transfer back in time

Anne Bonfert
Globetrotters
Published in
7 min readNov 18, 2022

--

Fortified Church of Biertan. | Credit: Anne Bonfert

It is not my first time visiting Romania and also not my first time marveling at those spectacular castles my ancestors built in Transylvania centuries ago.

And yes, every time I come for a visit I do explore the landscape and history with different eyes. Over the timespan of three decades I have changed a lot and so have these places. They changed, got renovated, or fell apart.

While I did think my last visit, I was 19 back then, was the first one I could really grasp all the things happening around me and make memories for the future, it wasn’t like that. I don’t remember much of my last visit 10 years ago.

But then again. I also traveled a lot in those last ten years. Like really a lot. And that might have impacted my take on things today and what I will remember from here on in the future.

The one thing that didn’t change is the horse carriages rolling through town. They were to be seen everywhere on my first visit to Romania when I was only a few years old, they were still in abundance on my last visit, and even today we saw a handful of them. Especially when you’re traveling through the countryside.

--

--

Anne Bonfert
Globetrotters

I am a traveler. Photographer. Writer. Teacher. Skydiving instructor. Adventure enthusiast. Nature lover. And fell in love with the African continent.