Puerto Escondido: Why You Should and Shouldn’t Visit the Hidden Port Town

Puerto Escondido on Mexico’s Southern Oaxacan coast is surely home to one of the most beautiful coastlines in the world, but is it already too popular?

Jo Muller
Globetrotters

--

Magnificent Sunset in Puerto Escondido, Photo by author

In the second half of December 2022, I continued my Mexican adventure after 5 splendid days in Oaxaca City towards the Oaxacan coast, to Puerto Escondido to be precise, a place I had already heard a lot about and which was clearly on my radar of must-visit places before I started my trip.

Puerto Escondido lives up to its reputation, but I have to admit that it didn’t live up to my personal expectations in many ways and to be honest, it definitely wasn’t one of my favourite places in Mexico.

Puerto Escondido is mostly known for its beautiful coastline, it is renowned to have one of Mexico’s most beautiful beaches, and it clearly doesn’t disappoint in that sense.

In this article, I will try to make you think twice about booking a trip to Puerto Escondido, by first giving you my main 2 reasons to visit Puerto Escondido, my positives about the place, and then my 2 main negatives, which clearly don’t make it worth visiting.

--

--

Jo Muller
Globetrotters

Travel passionate and Life enthusiastic boy from Luxembourg, sharing experiences and guidelines from my travels and personal growth IG: jo.elviajero