How I Rekindled an Old Flame Atop the Volcanoes of Atlantis

To forge a promise of everlasting love

Rui Alves
Globetrotters

--

More than twenty years have passed since I first met her. We fell in love and grew apart, and I thought I had lost her forever.

Yet fate had other plans and an old flame would rekindle, glowing even brighter as we walked together up the ash-covered slopes of the ancient volcanoes of Atlantis.

I’m aware these opening lines might sound like they’re straight from a Nicholas Sparks novel, but reality trumps fiction, and every aspect of our story is as real as it gets.

Who would have thought that after so many years apart, we would be flying hand in hand to the middle of the Atlantic Ocean?

I certainly wouldn’t; I had lost all hopes of reconnecting with her after years of silence. But somehow, love and destiny conspired to create a ripple that transcended the fabric of time.

The flames of young love burn brightly and then swiftly fade away. But deep within my chest, she never stopped playing at my heartstrings.

I would feel my blood rush every time I caught a glimpse of her long, dark hair in the wind of a winter morning or the luster of her eyes on a sunny afternoon.

--

--

Rui Alves
Globetrotters

Language teacher, linguist, life coach, published author (joined the Army and worked for the EU). A publisher, digital ronin, musician and alchemist of sound.