Riding the Bernina Express: Europe’s Highest Alpine Crossing

Through 55 tunnels and across 196 bridges, this narrow-guage railroad elegantly ascends the Valposchiavo on the 37-mile journey from Tirano, Italy, to St. Moritz, Switzerland.

Vincent Gragnani
Globetrotters

--

The Bernina Express ascends the Brusio Spiral Viaduct. All photos/videos by author.

Just 40 minutes after my 6:40 am alarm, I had showered, packed, checked out of my hotel, and was in a northbound train pulling out of Milano Centrale — looking forward to my second Alpine crossing by rail in one week.

Even the morning after a 24-hour rail strike, I had much of the Trenord car to myself, able to move about as I admired the shore towns of Lake Como, framed by the Bergamo Alps.

The journey from Milan to Colico, along the shores of Lake Como. Photos by Vincent Gragnani.

At the top of Lake Como, the train bears east, running parallel to the Adda River through the long Valtellina, which, in 1902, became home to the world’s first electrified main line railway.

--

--

Vincent Gragnani
Globetrotters

Amtrak aficionado. Student of slow travel. New Yorker for 18+ years. Love all things food, travel and transportation. More at slowspeedrail.com.