Travel / Photography

Room to Roam: You are Free to Wander Among The Ruins of Empires in the Centre of Amman

Don’t skip Petra, but don’t miss this either.

Scott-Ryan Abt
Globetrotters
Published in
6 min readMay 2, 2023

--

The Amman Citadel, Amman Jordan (photo by author)

I love a good writing challenge and I can always rely on the good people at Globetrotters to supply one each month that inspires and encourages the telling of a memorable travel tale. The last few months have focused on the natural world and have made for great reading. This month centres on the human created world, specifically those creations that have stood the tests of time, war, pestilence, natural disaster, and human folly that have all challenged the continued existence of these places.

They are dotted around the world. Many of them are tourist destinations, tour buses and bucket list stuff. Some are off the beaten path and require real determination to reach. When I saw the writing prompt, my mind raced to the ones I’ve been able to be present in. Specifically, I knew I’d have to spend some time scrolling to see which ones I had usable photos of.

What’s the point of going to these places? Why go and stand in the places where epoch-shattering moments happened in the past? Why go and feel ghosts in Auschwitz, Sarajevo, Hiroshima, or in the Killing Fields outside Phnom Penh? Why go to the genocide museum in…

--

--

Scott-Ryan Abt
Globetrotters

Enthusiast, in transit. Pithy bon mots of life abroad and at home, the state of the world, travel, music, food, cocktails, cleverish observations.