TRAVEL | TRAVEL WRITING

Ruins in Peru: Beyond Machu Picchu

My first visit to South America started with this magical place

Mariana Gonzalez
Globetrotters
Published in
6 min readMay 4, 2023

--

View of Machu Pichu and some of its ruins. The clouds are above, almost touching the peak of the mountain.
Views at Machu Picchu. Photo Credit: Author

Before visiting Peru in 2016, I really didn’t have South America at the top of my list.

Truth is, I don’t enjoy long flights or multiple stops. Unfortunately, I am not one of those that can sleep on a plane, so the longer the flight is, the more anxious, tired and cranky I get.

But my bestie Adriana came up with the idea when we were talking about our next trip. What if we go to Machu Picchu? She has lived in different countries and travelled to a lot of cities around the world, but she had never been in Peru.

I was doubtful but I knew if I didn’t do it with her, I may not do it at all. So I said yes and we started looking.

At the end we opted to pay for a tour and it was the best decision for us. We only had to book our flights and arrive at Lima for the start of the tour.

By doing this, we visited different places and all transportation, hotels and some meals were taken care of. We didn’t have to worry about much, other than showing up on time at the pick up points (sometimes VERY early).

--

--

Mariana Gonzalez
Globetrotters

Writer of all things travel, food, mindset and wellness