MONTHLY CHALLENGE | STREET ART | LOCAL TRAVEL

Small Town Street Art

The Striking Street Art of St Jacobs and St Thomas

Nella DiCarlo
Globetrotters
Published in
4 min readAug 26, 2023

--

St Jacobs, Ontario — Photo by Author

For this month’s challenge, I knew I had a selection of street art photos from a variety of places that are a little more well-known than these small towns I am featuring. I thought it would be difficult to organize and choose a selection of photos, and then thought of a couple of smaller towns and cities where the art really stood out to me and enhanced my visits.

One of my favorite street art murals I have seen in recent years is in St Jacobs, Ontario. It is colorful and eye-catching and really brightened up that winter day when I visited a couple of years ago. A little bit of country (or any good music) really is good for the soul. I remember gazing at this mural for a while and am glad I captured a decent snapshot.

St Jacobs is a quaint village in Southwest Ontario, known for its Mennonite heritage, historic shops, theatre, and locally famous Farmers Market and Antique Market. The street art of this small town adds to the enjoyment of this revitalized and interesting destination a short drive from Waterloo.

--

--

Nella DiCarlo
Globetrotters

Writing about travel, well-being, personal development, poetry. Curious observer and explorer of places and life.