TRAVEL. CULTURES

Ten Things You Didn’t Know About Thailand

Different country — different culture

Anne Bonfert
Globetrotters
Published in
11 min readJan 4, 2022

--

Credit: Anne Bonfert

Big, fat lady is strong, feel no pain.” Those were the words the doctor was telling me because I didn’t make a move when she poked a needle into my body.

Right.

I first had to swallow before knowing how to react and fake-laugh in response. I do know every culture has a different understanding of body image and language. This Thai doctor surely didn’t want to insult me but rather make a compliment. But this European lady knows those words only in a combination with being unhealthy and too big.

This is where culture clashes come into place. Different cultures, different traditions. But not just religious rituals but also the way we use language and which sentences are a compliment to us. Different cultures also have different body ideals and health mindsets.

And while different cultures can teach you a lot and widen your horizon, you must make sure not to insult anyone by ignoring their tradition and language. It helps to do some research before going to a new country to be able to understand the locals better. And here I am not just talking about a new language.

--

--

Anne Bonfert
Globetrotters

I am a traveler. Photographer. Writer. Teacher. Skydiving instructor. Adventure enthusiast. Nature lover. And fell in love with the African continent.