The Beautiful Scenery In Norway Healed My Soul

It also taught me the importance of work-life balance

Matt Lillywhite
Globetrotters

--

Trollstigen is an impressive mountain road near Åndalsnes. Photo taken by the author

I’m exploring a small town in Norway when it happens for the first time. Two businessmen wearing expensive suits are eating lunch under the shade of some trees.

“That’s strange,” I say to myself. “Back home, most people are obsessed with work and eat lunch at their desks.”

Here, though, it’s a different story. A small child laughs in a nearby playground. She takes a lick of ice cream as it drips onto her shirt, leaving a noticeable stain. The mother smiles, looks affectionately at her daughter, and gently wipes the stain away.

“Welcome to Norway,” my tour guide says with a chuckle, taking note of my admiration for the country’s incredible work-life balance. “We do things differently here.”

I’m not sure how long my jaw has been open. But it feels like I’m lost in thought forever, reliving that heartwarming moment over and over.

“It’s time to go back to the tour bus,” she continues. “If you were impressed by our towns, you’ll love the scenery even more!”

--

--

Matt Lillywhite
Globetrotters

Full-time storyteller, part-time procrastinator. Writing to inspire, entertain, and avoid doing laundry.