The Bocadillo: Spanish Football’s Best Tradition

How I was introduced to the all-important Spanish sandwich

Matt Hammerle
Globetrotters

--

A lovely bocadillo at a recent Sevilla match| Photo Credit: Author

My first experience with the mystical bocadillo was just over 4 years ago. I had just arrived in Seville as part of a semester-long study abroad program and was getting settled into the apartment of my host mom Loli, a retired widow in her 70s who had decided to host students as a way to make a little money and have someone to keep her company in her tidy, little apartment. As my host mom, Loli provided me with all of my meals which was fantastic given her abilities in the kitchen. I would soon fall in love with her preparation of Spanish home cooking classics like lentils with chorizo and morcilla and her revuelto de patatas y chorizo, an egg scramble/skillet with potatoes and chorizo. I would also soon be mystified by, and decidedly less in love with, her preparation of one of the most bizarre combinations of food I’ve seen on my plate: three chicken hot dogs, two poached eggs, and a big mound of white rice doused in ketchup with mustard on the side. I admittedly did not hate it, but I also don’t nostalgically miss it like I do her lentils and revuelto. But I digress.

--

--

Matt Hammerle
Globetrotters

American teaching English in Seville, Spain. Writing about my time in Seville, my travels throughout Spain & Europe, and whatever else crosses my mind!