AMBLING THROUGH AZERBAIJAN, GEORGIA, AND ARMENIA

The Caucasus: Armenia, Part 2 of 2

Jay Davidson
Globetrotters
7 min readJun 26, 2023

--

a building that I liked in Yerevan [All photos by the author]

First full day in Yerevan

For the morning, I wanted to track down some of the beautiful sculpture for which I had seen photos online. And then, after lunch at Salad House, I was going to spend the afternoon, during the hottest time of the day, at the Cafesjian Center for the Arts, located inside Cascade. That was the plan, anyway.

In looking for the sculpture, I made my way to Republic Square. I couldn’t believe my eyes when I arrived! The grandeur of the buildings, all in the same style, with similar color stone and architecture, was a sight to behold.

just a couple of the grand buildings at Republic Square

After lunch, I easily found my way to Cascade. It was heating up, so I was happy to be able to spend some time indoors looking at art.

The interior is comprised of six sets of escalators, each with sculptures displayed on various levels next to them. Then, upon reaching each landing, there is more art on…

--

--

Jay Davidson
Globetrotters

Retired teacher (San Francisco, 1969–2003); Returned Peace Corps Volunteer (Mauritania, 2003–2005); public speaker, artist, writer, traveler, world citizen