Photography | Monthly Challenge

The Color of My Childhood

Growing up in the luscious green countryside of Bulgaria

Krasi Shapkarova
Globetrotters
Published in
4 min readMar 28, 2023

--

where I spent a huge chunk of my childhood | Credit: Krasi Shapkarova

There is a reason one of the colors on the Bulgarian flag is green. As a primarily agricultural country, green vistas are inescapable when traversing the small Balkan nation.

As someone who grew up in a small village, at the foothills of beautiful mountains, fields and forests of green dominated my childhood, especially my long summer vacations.

It’s the kind of green that makes you feel alive and oh so grateful to live on this one planet. I can smell the fresh air just by looking at these photos. Can you? :)

I had the kind of childhood that many don’t get today: no TV, no Internet, no smart phones or any other gadgets to hijack my time and attention. We barely even had toys.

What my friends and I had, though, was unlimited access to fields of green with views of mountains in the background and excess energy that had to be spent somehow, somewhere.

Why not, then, frolic in a green field full of wildflowers? All. Day. Long.

--

--

Krasi Shapkarova
Globetrotters

Certified Career Management & Strengths Coach | Writer | Teacher | Reader | Walker | Nomad