TRAVEL, PHOTOGRAPHY

The Eye-Catching Chaos of Rome’s Ruins

A fanciful stroll through the crumbling Eternal City

Erie Astin
Globetrotters
Published in
7 min readMay 7, 2023

--

“No expectations.” Roman Forum. © Erie Astin

The first time I saw the Roman Forum, I bounded out of Hotel Giubileo, right outside the stunning Basilica Maria Maggiore, and strolled down the Esquiline Hill, breathing in short, quick bursts.

I was twenty years old and had never seen a photo or drawing of the Forum. I had no expectations. If I’d been expecting anything at all, it wouldn’t have been what I saw.

“Total chaos, blinding the senses.” Roman Forum. © Erie Astin

My heart jumped in shock. Rather than a small, orderly patch of stately pillars, the Forum was cluttered and eclectic in color, with lots of white and decaying grey, and reddish ground. Everywhere I looked, pieces of the empire were strewn like crumbs on a table, waiting to be swept away after a feast.

My eyes cried, “Too much, too much!”

Too much was exactly what I craved. I’d wanted something big from Rome, something beyond my imagination. In hindsight, it could only have been this — total chaos, blinding the senses, turning my world upside down.

--

--

Erie Astin
Globetrotters

Travel writer. -- Humanist, animal lover, eternal striver. -- From Montana.