The Pros and Cons of Living in Manitoba

It’s not as bad as you might think

Ophélie Quillier
Globetrotters

--

The author hanging out with a polar bear at Assiniboine Park Zoo (photo by author)

A few years ago, as my husband got his posting message and we announced that we were moving to Manitoba, most people’s reaction was “But why?”. In the rest of Canada (and the world, if people even know where Manitoba is), it doesn’t have a great reputation.

Located in the centre of Canada, within the Great Plains, with a population barely above 1.3 million, it’s true that Manitoba doesn’t seem all that exciting.

And there are a lot of inconveniences to living there.

However, the three years we lived in Manitoba were mostly enjoyable. And we would gladly move back there, as it seems that we might have to this summer.

So here are the best and worst things about living in Manitoba.

Con: the winter

I’ll get this one out of the way because it’s truly one of the worst parts of living in Manitoba. Winter in Canada is difficult. But winter in Manitoba is brutal.

While there aren’t huge quantities of snow compared to some provinces closer to bodies of water, the temperatures dip extremely low and we experienced very regular extreme cold warnings. The temperatures regularly go down as low as -30°C (-22°F) and the wind chill brings it closer…

--

--

Ophélie Quillier
Globetrotters

Writer, expat, and pet parent. I share stories about my life abroad with my dog and my cat. I hope you join me on this journey!