Exploring the Caribbean

The Three Pirates of the Caribbean Film Locations that made my Travel List

And the Reasons Why I Want to Visit Them

Tammy G
Globetrotters

--

Photo taken by proslgn from Shutterstock

It is not the destination so much as the journey, they say. Captain Jack Sparrow

Ahoy there! 🏴‍☠️

The swashbuckling Pirates of the Caribbean movie franchise is one that I thoroughly enjoyed during my late teens. From the iconic Captain Jack Sparrow, the handsome Will Turner and the beautiful Elizabeth Swann, these movies helped open my eyes to the lovely scenery we have in the Caribbean. They also have inspired some of the additions to my travel list, hence this post.

🏴‍☠️ The order of the Pirates of the Caribbean films

I’ve included a quick summary of the movies to start as I know that it is not always easy to keep track of the film order.

1. Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl (2003)

2. Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man’s Chest (2006)

3. Pirates of the Caribbean: At World’s End (2007)

4. Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides (2011)

5. Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Men Tell No Tales (2017)

Travel List Destinations

The films were shot in a variety of locations in the Caribbean and around the world ranging from idyllic white sand beaches and cays to lush green forests and rivers.

A great bonus about the locations that made my list is that they are not isolated. There are lots of other great sites nearby to visit and explore which the traveler in me loves.

Here are the three Caribbean film locations that made my travel list:

🏴‍☠️ 1/ Tobago Cays | St Vincent & the Grenadines

The cay of Petit Tabac was featured in the first Pirates movie as the desert island where Captain Jack and Elizabeth were marooned.

Why it made my List

Following in the footsteps of Captain Jack and Elizabeth and exploring Petit Tabac is high on my list. I really like the idea of a pirate themed beach picnic while enjoying the stunning scenery. Of course, I’ll ensure there is a certain way off the island (unlike the movie) but I’d certainly keep an eye out for the sea turtles 😉.

Petit Tabac | Photo taken by BlueOrange Studio from Shutterstock

The natural scenery in the Tobago Cays Marine Park looks quintessentially Caribbean and is one that I really look forward to experiencing. The park comprises cays, islets, coral reefs and mangroves and plays a crucial role for animal and plant life in the cays.

Horse Shoe Reef, Mayreau Gardens and Catholic Rock Bird Sanctuary are also sites in the marine park that I look forward to visiting and exploring.

Also, the nearby Mopion Island with its lone wooden umbrella is another place I want to visit to experience owning an island (for a few hours at least).

Mopion Island | Photo taken by Hugh Whyte from Unsplash

Fun Fact: The size of the cay changes depending on the tide but the umbrella always remains visible.

🏴‍☠️ 2/ Indian River | Dominica

Changing scenes (pun intended), Indian River located near Roseau in Dominica was the Pantano River in the film. We first saw the river in the second movie when Jack goes to visit Tia Dalma.

Indian River | Photo taken by mbrand85 from Shutterstock

Why it made my List

I found the character of Tia Dalma to be a memorable character in the films and I particularly loved the the accent the actress Naomie Harris used. The vigil that the villagers held for Jack along the river was the final piece that made me very curious to see what the actual river is like in real life.

The contrast between urban Roseau and the rural nature setting of the Indian River makes this location unique. It’s considered to be one of the most picturesque of rivers in Dominica. Given that there are as many rivers as there are days in the year, that’s quite significant to me.

I look forward to taking a boat ride on the river and taking a photo of Tia Dalma’s shack. Then, we travel further upriver to the popular Bush Bar to sample their famous DYNAMITE rum punch.

Fun Fact: The bar was the site of the Ticking Tock Tavern in the movies.

🏴‍☠️ 3/ Wallilabau Bay | St Vincent & the Grenadines

The last site is on the west coast of St Vincent. This was a primary location in the first three Pirates of the Caribbean movies as it was transformed into Port Royal, a bustling town and home of the British Royal Navy. It’s also where we are first introduced to Captain Jack.

Why it Made my List

Given the key role of Port Royal in the movies, I look forward to seeing what is left from the movie sets at Wallilabou Bay. Also, it will be interesting to observe how items from the period combine with the present day. The small hotel there also has souvenirs, photos and costumes from the film which is a highlight for me.

Wallilabou Bay| Photo taken by Nicola Pulham from Shutterstock

Fun Fact: The actors used the hotel rooms as green rooms during their time filming at this location

Wallilabou Bay is located near to the Wallilabou Heritage Park (another place on my list) which is a beautiful oasis in this part of the country. The park is a former plantation with large Samaan trees creating a habitat for birds. It also features a waterfall and pool.

🏴‍☠️ Pirates of the Caribbean Favorite Scene

Before wrapping up this post, I wanted to share one of my favorite scenes from the third movie At World’s End. Watching “King” Elizabeth and cheering her on from the first movie made this scene extra special to see how far she came on her journey.

Not all treasure is silver and gold, mate. Captain Jack

The Pirates of the Caribbean movies put the spotlight on the Caribbean in a fun & unique way. The main characters are unforgettable to me and so are many of the locations.

For other Pirates of the Caribbean movie fans, what are your highlights from the movies?

--

--

Tammy G
Globetrotters

Lifelong learner with a passion for reading & a desire to help others. Current pursuits include writing, web & UX design, travelling & volunteering.