Things To Do When Stuck In New York

How to make the best of an unexpected layover.

Nick Howard
Globetrotters
Published in
8 min readJun 30, 2023

--

photo by Nick Howard

As I mentioned in a previous article, I recently took a group of students on a trip to the UK. Our planned itinerary was to go from our home in Louisville to New York and then connect to Boston for our flight to Edinburgh. I was nervous on this leg of the trip, as our window from New York to Boston was about an hour and a half. Any delay could lead to a problem.

And, of course, one of my biggest fears about doing these group tours happened. We arrived at La Guardia early on Friday, which I took as a good sign. It was 3:00, and our flight didn’t leave until 7:30. However, I got a little worried when we got to our gate. The flight that was leaving before us was delayed. They didn’t have a flight crew yet due to the weather and issues from the wildfires in Canada. It was a domino effect, as I saw our flight to Boston delayed. We were to arrive fifteen minutes after our flight to Edinburgh departed.

Luckily I had another adult in our group, so I had her stay with the kids while I tried to devise a plan with the airline. There was a flight leaving for Boston at 5:00, and by the time I spoke with the agent, it was 4:30. We rushed to the gate to go on standby. There were only four seats available, and there were six of us.

--

--

Nick Howard
Globetrotters

I am an educator and a writer. I write about sports, movies, comics, history, professional wrestling, food, music.