Thirty Days in Thailand: Part One

M T Sutphin
Globetrotters
Published in
4 min readAug 28, 2022

Welcome to the Story

This is a series of stories describing my 30 days in Thailand. Located in southeast Asia, this was referred to as Siam until 1938, and is where the term Siamese, along with the breed of cats, originates. A gorgeous country rich in history and culture, it is worth a visit for anyone able to come.

I’ve made three trips here this year, and will make another before the year ends. I seldom open up about my personal life in these essays, but this story requires it. My fiance is here in the Land of Smiles, along with a big chunk of my heart. I hope one day to move here permanently and am working toward that goal. When you read this, you help and contribute to this goal, and become in a sense part of this story. Welcome aboard, and I hope these essays will broaden your understanding of other cultures and places in the world.

The trip required a flight to San Francisco then Taiwan. Photo by author.

Pre Travel Chaos

What do you need to do before traveling across the globe? Of course, there are the essentials like purchasing tickets and dusting off the passport. But when it’s one day before you leave, some type of panic sets in as you stare aghast at a long list of small things that have to deal with.

On Tuesday I leave for Bangkok. From there I will do some traveling around Thailand, and perhaps Vietnam or Cambodia. Since it’s not the first solo trip there, at least I’m not having literal panic attacks about it.

It looks like a little work is on my schedule for tomorrow morning, with an afternoon filled with washing laundry and picking up essential items for the trip. Making an executive decision on what to wear on the long flight is a challenge, At some point you know you’ll be burning up on the tarmac. Then at 30,000 feet, the air conditioning on full blast you’re lucky to stave off frostbite.

What is with the Jitters?

The first solo trip I made outside the US frightened the hell out of me. I had a near breakdown trying to convince myself I’d be okay. I was, even though I ended up in a foreign hospital upon arrival with Covid. Being my third trip, you would think I’d be okay. But for some reason, right before my flight, I always get super panicky. This time I flew out of Vancouver Washington, where I had been visiting friends. Luckily, my doctor prescribes me anxiety medication for moments like this. They are strong enough to put me to sleep if I take them when I don’t feel stressed. I had to take two to make it to the airport and on the plane this time. Nothing ventured, nothing gained.

Hoping for a safe flight across the Pacific Ocean. Photo by author.

The Flight

I was lucky to get an overnight flight to Asia. It’s easier when you can sleep most of the way. Because I usually do get cold on the plane I decided to carry a small, plush blanket with me. I didn’t have any issue with it at first. But by the time I got to San Francisco, I was already tired of lugging it. Plus, as I started looking around, I suddenly felt like that cartoon character from The Peanuts cartoon; the one who would always drag his dirty blanket with him everywhere because he was strangely attached to it. So I tossed it in San Francisco.

Leaving the States, the sun setting in the distant horizon. Photo by author.

The overall trip to Bangkok was uneventful, except for having my flights completely changed. Originally I was traveling with Cathay Pacific, but a monsoon storm in Hong Kong caused them to cancel. Thankfully, they rebooked me with Eva air, and I was able to transit through Taiwan.

On Thursday afternoon I landed in Bangkok, Thailand. Tomorrow, I’ll share with you about my adventure there, along with a few photos. You can follow me on Medium for free, and look for updates every few days.

--

--

M T Sutphin
Globetrotters

I’m an expat living in Thailand; a history and nature buff with degrees in History and Psychology.