This Enchanting Bookstore in New York Transported Me to Serenity

A unique French bookstore in NYC

Monica Ray, M.Ed, MS
Globetrotters

--

The elegant second-floor reading space of Albertine in NYC (credit: Monica Ray)

It took me months to finally walk into and discover this treasure trove. It’s easily overlooked, like the quiet, shy child in a brood of boisterous siblings. With the Metropolitan Museum (the Met) in its far corner and Central Park up front, who would even notice the beautiful, white building on Museum Mile?

One day, a few weeks ago, I decided to step in and was greeted by a hallway of streaked black-and-white marble. I was immediately struck by how quiet it was inside, even if the building was steps away from the bustling crowd of 5th Avenue. The soundproofing was top-notch.

Back to the marbled room. There was no one there but me and a security guard who ushered me through a metal detector — the only ugly addition to the serene lobby.

I walked on into a darker yet more beautiful space, that was a French/English bookstore.

This is Albertine.

According to their website:

Albertine is the only bookshop in New York devoted solely to books in French and English with more than 14,000 contemporary and classic titles from 30 French-speaking…

--

--

Monica Ray, M.Ed, MS
Globetrotters

Top and Boosted Writer. I write food/travel pieces centered around the UK, India, and the US. I also cover writing. Follow me on Instagram @monicaonthemoveray