Scaling New Heights: Journey to the Tallest Waterfall in the World

If you think hiking up hills is too much work, just remember that reaching new heights is worth every step.

AlibsWrites
Globetrotters
6 min readJan 18, 2023

--

Tugela Falls
©️AlibsWrites

As someone who wasn’t able to spend the end-of-year holidays with their family, I thought it would be a great opportunity to explore a new and beautiful part of the world.

As I sat in a depressed state, missing my family, I couldn’t help but feel a sense of wanderlust wash over me. I had always been drawn to the great outdoors, and the beauty of my surroundings was almost too much to bear.

Scuffled the internet and came across an article about the Tugela Falls. “The highest waterfall in the world,” the headline read. My heart skipped a beat as I read on, mesmerized by the stunning photos of the falls plunging off the edge of the cliff and into the valley below. I knew right then and there that I had to see the Tugela Falls for myself.

I immediately began making plans for the hike, gathering all the necessary gear and supplies. My excitement grew with each passing hour as I prepared for the journey ahead.

Packed my bags and set off on the 6-hour drive to the Orange-Freestate province in Southern Africa. Located in the eastern part of the country, bordered by the KwaZulu-Natal province and the independent state of Lesotho.

As I set off, I couldn’t help but feel a sense of excitement. I couldn’t resist the urge to take a few pictures of the beautiful mountains that surrounded me. They were like something out of a fairytale, with jagged peaks and valleys that seemed to go on forever.

©️AlibsWrites
©️AlibsWrites

I made a few stops along the way to stretch my legs and take in the sights. At one point, I even pulled over to grab a box of pizza from a roadside stand. It was the perfect snack to fuel me for the journey ahead.

The town of Qwa Qwa, designated homeland of more than 180,000 Sesotho-Speaking Basotho People – ©️AlibsWrites

Upon arriving at my lodge, I was struck by the breathtaking views that surrounded me. The area is known for its natural beauty, and it didn’t disappoint. I spent the first day getting acclimated to my new surroundings by taking a 5km walk to train my muscles for the big hike that was planned for the following day.

©️AlibsWrites
©️AlibsWrites

The next day, I set off on a hike to the top of Tugela Falls. Tugela Falls gets its name from the Zulu word “Thukela”, meaning “sudden”. Standing at a staggering 948 meters (3,110 feet) tall, off of the Mont-Aux-Sources plateau into the valley below. It’s not 1 drop though, rather 5 leaps — a true marvel of nature.

©️AlibsWrites
©️AlibsWrites
©️AlibsWrites

How did this fall traverse such a height to the sentinel’s peak? These are the thoughts that keep coming to mind.

The hike is not as moderate as it is described on numerous online reviews. So, if you’re afraid of heights perhaps this may not be for you. It’s certainly not for beginners either.

The weather was medium to light rain and mist at the beginning. Groups are shuttled to the starting point of the hike, known as the Sentinel. The road between Witsieshoek Lodge and the starting point is about a 30-minute drive and needs a high clearance vehicle. It’s extremely rocky!

Upon arrival at the Sentinel we started our slow ascent on a zig zag, paved path for about 2km.

©️AlibsWrites

What makes it so tough is that you’re hiking on a steep incline with your overnight back pack, you will feel it! Also, as you gradually go up, the air gets thinner. We passed the Sentinel summit and continue up, this is where the “fun” begins.

The weather up there is unpredictable and can go from extremely hot to extremely cold. We were met by very strong winds. We walked on a path along the edge of the mountains, one wrong footing, you’re gone. It’s important to take it a step at a time.

©️AlibsWrites

There’s no medal for arriving first, you really need to pace yourself and rest, have some water and snacks when it’s safe to do so.

The views are spectacular! After approximately 5km we eventually arrived at the famous, nerve-wrecking chain ladders. We then went up the first chain ladder. There are 2 sets. The one on the right is a preferred choice since it appears to be more stable and easier to cling onto.

©️AlibsWrites

Whatever you do, don’t look down.

At the top, there’s another set of ladders to overcome.

Then we reached the top and walked up past some rocks before reaching the very top! After this point, it was a beautiful, 1km or so flat walk towards the Amphitheater and Tugela Falls, the place where we set up camp.

We did arrive at a waterfall, had some swim and refreshments, took some amazing photos and took it all in.

©️AlibsWrites

As we are starting to head back thinking we have gotten the best of our adventure, we walked past a veteran hiker who has always returned to the Tugela fall, but this time with his family. We exchanged some pleasantries and as we are about to continue heading back, he mentioned we had not been to the main falls. What???? Really????

We joined him in another 1.5km walk to the falls. It was an even greater experience, he was our savior, we wouldn’t have seen the Tugela falls without him.

©️AlibsWrites

Once we reached the falls, we were treated to the sight of the water plunging off the edge of the cliff and into the valley below. It was easy to see how the falls had earned the name Thukela, meaning Sudden. The water falls in five leaps, creating a spectacular display of power and beauty.

©️AlibsWrites

Overall, the hike to Tugela Falls was an amazing and rewarding experience. The trail was a bit poorly marked or wasn't even marked at all, but the challenge only added to the adventure.

The views were spectacular, and the hike was well worth it despite the sporadic visibility. Amazing views, definitely one of my favorites. +/- 5 hours with loads of water breaks and stops for pictures (excluding the time we spent at the waterfall).

Take the shuttle, that road is horrific, unless you have a 4x4. Starts with a gradual zig-zag incline. The waterfall is so rewarding, if you have a camera bring it along. You need to capture the depth of the mountains.

Wow! What a hike and the views are simply breathtaking. It’s just one of those hikes where you have to go and see it for yourself to understand the beauty with which you are surrounded.

Definitely one to tick off the bucket list.

It’s an experience you’ll never forget.

Will go again in a heartbeat.

--

--

AlibsWrites
Globetrotters

Writer ● Enthusiastically explore diverse subjects that capture my imagination and share my discoveries with fervor ● Love the Continent of Africa.