Travel. Currency. Souvenirs.

Using Local Currency as a Time Capsule

A time capsule collection from Mexico and Central America

Sh*t Happens - Lost Girl Travel
Globetrotters
Published in
6 min readOct 31, 2023

--

A rooftop snapshot from our magical trip through Mexico and Central America — Leon, Nicaragua (Photo credit to the author)

When I first read that the Globetrotters monthly challenge this month was to write about souvenirs, I felt at a bit of a loss of what to focus on, photographs, local artwork, jewellery, postcards. I love a good souvenir, but I don’t really have a collection of any one particular thing.

My favourite souvenir is of course my handwritten journal. I hold it very dear to my heart. It also serves the purpose of a scrapbook filled all the little things I like along the way like tickets, postcards and wristbands. Then I remembered another thing I have scrapped in there.

Local currency!

On our last big trip through Mexico and Central America, every time we left a country, I glued an envelope into my journal and put a local note in there. I wrote what it was worth at the time and any little notes about it that came to mind about the local currency.

I realised that this is such a perfect little time capsule as nothing is subject to change quick like currency and what a wonderful thing these are to look back on in future years to come.

--

--

Sh*t Happens - Lost Girl Travel
Globetrotters

Hi! I’m Georgie and I share travel stories of when sh*t happens. I think that sometimes the worst things that happen to you traveling, are often the funniest